A Friend Ingrained

In certain very powerful, “deep” friendships you enter a stage where you not only spend time with your friend but you embody them by adopting some of their clothes, gestures, words, and preferences. Some times it is noticeable, others it is not, but you are always aware that, wherever you may go, you carry your friend with you. That is when your friendship becomes passionate, and you publicly defiant about it.

This tango is an invitation to experience the music together: “Χόρεψε μαζί μου/νιώσε μαζί μου το ρυθμό/δεν απαιτώ, το θέλω.” Even in an “age of economics,” friendships make special music because they operate with their own scales. “Their rhythm lies not in what they bring to us, but rather in what we immerse ourselves in. To be a friend is to step into the stream of another’s life” (Todd May). Pantelis Polychronidis, my “other self,” is a friend I embody. If you know me in person, you know, through me, part of him as well. I don’t imitate him but there are things that he says, does, and believes which fascinate me so acutely that I adopt them, consciously or unconsciously, and make them my own while they also make me their own. Like all great love affairs, all great friendships mark a history-defining Before & After. After Pantelis and I became friends, we have been transforming one another. I have become a new person by ingraining parts of his person into mine.

May 31, 2015

 

“Νύχτα της φωτιάς” (2009)

Στίχοι:   Γεράσιμος Ευαγγελάτος, Μουσική:   Θέμης Καραμουρατίδης
Τραγούδι Τάνια Τσανακλίδου

Ήρθαμε ίδια μέρα
με άλλο άστρο
εσύ ψηλά, εγώ πιο κάτω
ή αντίστροφα.
Αυτή τη νύχτα της φωτιάς
όσα στον ύπνο σου ζητάς
τα ξέρω…

Εσύ παράγγειλε ό,τι πιω
κι εγώ πληρώνω
εσύ θα γίνεις με αλκοόλ κι εγώ με σένα
γιατί είναι τώρα ή ποτέ.

Χόρεψε μαζί μου
νιώσε μαζί μου το ρυθμό
δεν απαιτώ, το θέλω.
Χόρεψε μαζί μου
δε σε προστάζω, επιθυμώ
να σ` απαλλάξω απ’ το θυμό σου θέλω.

Γύρισα την πλάτη
σ` έναν κόσμο
περιμένουνε πιο πάνω
μου είναι αδιάφορο.
Εγώ στα μέρη που με πας
ό, τι κι αν πουν όλοι για μας
υπάρχω…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.